….how fragile is life….

…how fragile is life….

I saw my long, lost friend on Saturday. She was severely injured in a car accident last fall.  She received a brain stint as well as a tracheotomy.  She worked hard during physical therapy sessions in order to regain the ability to walk. I was amazed to see her at our school this past Saturday.

She is a living miracle and reminded me in a big way that life truly is NOW. To be totally absorbed in the present moment is the ultimate goal of being. This is hard to achieve in our American culture because we are lead to believe that being busy leads to importance. Just look at the word… Busy… Busi…Business.

Seeing my friend this weekend provided me with an opportunity to respond to this presentation of courage with renewed efforts of thankfulness and appreciation for menial everyday tasks. I hope you are as happy doing the laundry tomorrow as I was in picking up the trash can from the curb today.

5 thoughts on “….how fragile is life….

  1. Kathy Perret March 3, 2015 at 1:54 am Reply

    A beautiful post. Your friend is an inspiration.

    @KathyPerret

    Like

  2. Beth Scanlon March 3, 2015 at 1:54 am Reply

    What a fighter you have for a friend! Cherish those moments! The gift of time is the best give we can give each other! As you shared, we can choose the face we put forward!

    Like

  3. margaretsmn March 3, 2015 at 2:09 am Reply

    Glenae inspired many posts for me. This is my favorite: https://reflectionsontheteche.wordpress.com/2014/11/27/we-must-live-in-gratitude/
    I loved carrying her in like a queen. She is truly a miracle!

    Like

  4. mvervinck March 3, 2015 at 2:23 am Reply

    It is important to stop and be thankful for what we can do. I agree that I have problems with this, too. Thanks for the attitude adjustment!

    Like

  5. Leigh Anne March 3, 2015 at 3:52 am Reply

    God is good and obviously he isn’t done with her yet. You are so right, life is fragile and we mustn’t take it for granted. Thanks for the reminder.

    Like

Leave a Reply

