Okay, I AM a cat person!

Okay, I AM a cat person! I actually walk around with cat hair on my clothes. I still can’t believe it. I have cat toys dragging on the floor and I don’t even mind.

My cats give me something I call mindless time. This time is comparable to a wonderful yoga session where I am totally “in the moment”. I watch their fluid movements and am reminded that slow fluidity is something to be sought. Being of a slightly hyperactive nature, I need as much slow fluidity as possible.  My morning routine includes fifteen minutes of guided meditation, fifteen minutes of yoga and a cup of tea sitting on my floor with my cats.

Both of my cats are rescue cats. One was only a few weeks old and found stuck in a car engine. His mewling alerted my friend, Margaret, who promptly set about the rescue using all of her contortionistic yoga moves. Luna is her name as she is as black as the tar which patches up our old country roads along the bayou. My second rescue cat was originally named Jagger. His scruffy coat, clipped ear and broken tail (in three places) led to a name change. He is now known as B.T. which stands for Broken Tail.

I will never be without another cat. They are truly like yogis, transferring their peace, calmness and tranquility into my soul.

4 thoughts on “Okay, I AM a cat person!

  1. Glenda Funk March 5, 2015 at 5:19 pm Reply

    I’m a cat person, too. I don’t have a cat right now because I have two dogs and worry that they won’t get along w/ a kitty. Still, there’s always YouTube and crazy cat videos.

    Like

  2. mvervinck March 6, 2015 at 1:33 am Reply

    Growing up I had two cats. Reading your post about your cats reminded me of mine. Now, because of other people’s allergies to cats, we are a hypo-allergenic dog family. However, I still think that cats are amazing creatures!

    Like

  3. margaretsmn March 6, 2015 at 1:48 am Reply

    I’m reading this with Mimi by my side. I’m so happy Luna has found a forever home. It was actually Maggie who grabbed her out of the car and she has scars to show for it.

    Like

  4. rblwatkins March 6, 2015 at 4:50 am Reply

    I am a cat person too! I love my two: Jack & Kiki (also rescues). They do present a calm presence of pure love (except when running around chasing toys just before bed-time). I enjoyed reading your post, thank you for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

