Could this creature possibly be…..

Could this creature possibly be from me? My daughter has a powerful energy about her and is very independent. She is right as well as left-brained. She can write award winning poetry and solve complicated math problems. She has excellent organizational skills. She is socially accomplished in two cultures and is bilingual. She enjoys working at a dress boutique as well as the Engineering Office at LSU. Unlike me, she can volunteer at a children’s cancer hospital without a flinch. I could not even go inside.

Okay, I will stop with the accolades at this point.

Who would have thought ditzy Carolyn could have produced such a child? Her father’s genes have eradicated mine! I do have to mention one more thing. She is seriously well-behaved, or should I say, suspiciously well-behaved. She was in tenth grade when her wisdom teeth were pulled. I was in the ante room anxiously waiting to provide comfort. A nurse gently opened the door and beckoned for me to follow. As I walked down the hallway, the mama bear instincts began to flare.

There were three attendants and a doctor hovering over my baby girl. She was shaking from head to toe. The doctor explained that I had a “very good child” as they had to administer an antidote to offset the miscalculation of anesthesia. I was told that she obviously did not do drugs or drink very often. He went on to explain that it was rare indeed to have such a child in this day and age. I could not believe what I was witnessing or hearing. I did not even have to restrain my thoughts or words as my entire focus was to stream willpower and strength into my quaking daughter.

We arrived home to my waiting husband. “She is okay.” I told him. “Apparently, we have an exceptional daughter.” Later, I thanked God for providing us with safe passage yet again.  A notion struck me and I stopped breathing for a moment. “Lord, have mercy!” I thought. “This child was going to LSU in two years. She was raised outside of this country and has no idea of what to expect. She will be lead like a lamb to the slaughter.”

Well, my little Chemical Engineer only has one year left and so far, so good! Thank goodness I stopped at one child. The other one would have probably been just like me!

(P.S. Forgive me for slipping in one more accolade.)

2 thoughts on “Could this creature possibly be…..

  1. charinickerson March 8, 2015 at 3:54 am Reply

    I dunno–I see similarity in your awesomeness. Of course she came from you–and why stop? Sounds like you’re blessed, for sure. But, also sounds like you have a gift for parenting, protecting. Prayers are all you need–then, now, in the future. She will continue to astound you. She’ll take college by storm!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. onathought March 8, 2015 at 4:50 pm Reply

    You can see the pride in this slice – in each word. How wonderful! And this slice is a gift to her if she reads it. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

