Kirtan chanting… I LOVE it!

My journey into yoga has led me to try new experiences. I saw a brochure about a Kirtan gathering. I read that the song sheets are handed out and you provide the chorus for a woman named Ashana Sophia Morrow. She had recently moved to Louisiana and was starting to provide classes. I went online to check out her biography. I was very impressed! She was accomplished on the cello, harp and two other instruments I did not know. I checked out her videos on youtube. I decided to try it. It was wonderful. Apparently, I wasn’t the only one who had trouble using their voice to “fit in”. After a few tries, everyone realized that you could use whatever voice register that you found comfortable. Yay, I could sing with the guys. I actually received a compliment on my harmonizing.

No one was freaky at all. The ages included 30 to 70 years.

When we were singing happy songs, I felt like I was a Who in Whoville on Christmas morning. The soulful songs made me feel as if I was in the movie Avatar. I felt as though I was singing with the community around the ancestor tree waiting for the scared seeds to alight on me. I am hooked.

Here is here short youtube.com link

One thought on “Kirtan chanting… I LOVE it!

  1. mvervinck March 9, 2015 at 1:10 am Reply

    Isn’t it great when we find just the place and the activity we love and look forward to! Thanks for opening my eyes, too, to something new.

    Like

Leave a Reply

