A Game: Walking with Music

Walking with Music

I like to play a game called “Walking with Music”.  I imagine the acoustics with each footstep. I play with people I know, as well as people I do not know. Sometimes, it is easy to hear the sound, but hard to identify the instrument. Here are a few people I have identified:

Ashana steps spring to a joyful, stringed instrument like a zither or something from the midieval times. I hear the twitter of small birds.

Ryan silently glides to the profound sound of a deep Tibetian Chant.

John dances to a stringed instrument which carries a light classical tune containing varied fun fuges.

Katie walks with an acoustical guitar soloist. Her tune is a fun, warm hug carrying giggles. You can feel yourself falling and sinking right into its lovely chords.

Vince’s footsteps are soft, but his music is a pounding rock and roll sound from the 70’s.

Sophia’s silent step carries two beats. One I can’t see or feel, but the other is the sound of a lotus blossoming.

Jessica has a light skip filled with laughter, happiness and sunshine.

Dennis glides with the breezy sounds of nature. I think his steps carry all seasons. I can tell because the birds call change with the season.

Neil treads with a deep, slow, languid beat with the call of a deep sounding primitive drum that fills the room. Other times, he dances and I think it might be to a Jamaican steel drum. The kind that is like hammered pewter with a plethora of different size beats that carry the sounds for a long time.

Kelley’s step is light. It is still forming, but carries the tinkle of a delicate shell wind chime.

Miguel has a measured step and carries all of the sounds of water. I hear the pounding of the Pacific and the ebb and flow of the Atlantic. I feel the lull of a bayou as well as the rushing of a river. I also can feel the sound of a pacific wave as it thunders over a huge rock and gently spills on the other side in a waterfall curtain. One of my favorite places is waiting in delicious anticipation to see just how much of the waterfall will spill.

The Bayou Warrior usually scurries with the notes of any pleasant engaging sound that she hears along her busy way, but the tune and her step are changing. I think it might include a happy whistle amongst the cypress forests. We shall see.

9 thoughts on “A Game: Walking with Music

  1. margaretsmn March 21, 2015 at 9:54 pm Reply

    This is beautiful. I love how you are experimenting with your writing. Look forward to hearing more music from you.

    Like

  2. adriennewiley March 21, 2015 at 10:01 pm Reply

    Ooh, this is so lovely. I love that you know these people in your life so well that you can even hear their personal music. I think I know a Vince!

    Like

    • bayouwarrior March 22, 2015 at 2:37 am Reply

      Actually, I only know half of them. The others, I.just asked someone that knew their name. I think I want to develop this piece. Thank you so much for the encouragement!

      Like

  3. Amy Brennan March 21, 2015 at 10:11 pm Reply

    This is such beautiful way to express your awareness of others. Each of us does have a specific walk, I love how you matched it to your words.

    Like

  4. Darlene Andre March 21, 2015 at 10:24 pm Reply

    Blending music with writing – a beautiful pairing.

    Like

  5. beckymusician March 21, 2015 at 11:26 pm Reply

    What an interesting way to look at people. I love your descriptions.

    Like

  6. spillarke March 21, 2015 at 11:47 pm Reply

    Rich sound play in this slice. I enjoyed hearing the deep languid beet and the light sunshine skip and the tinkle of wind chimes… sweet.

    Like

  7. lynnjake March 22, 2015 at 12:03 am Reply

    Beautiful. And what an interesting idea, to perceive your friends’ footsteps as a type of music. I love this.

    Like

    • bayouwarrior March 22, 2015 at 2:40 am Reply

      Actually, I only know half of the people. When I find sense music in someone’s steps, I ask around for their name. Then, I let time unfold because I know I will be meeting them soon! 😃 thanks for the encouragement.

      Like

Leave a Reply

